Hundred Word Wander – Library

The Imperial Library is a lovely place, if not for all the people allowed in. Still, there is the odd exception…

I look up from my desk, scrutinising the guard reading in a rocking chair.

“Are you okay over there?”

A helmet covers their face, save for their cool blue eyes. “Fine, thanks.”

“You finished cleaning up, you know. You don’t need to stay any longer.”

“I’m aware.”

“So you’re here to read?”

They lower their novel, looking straight at me. “I’m here to admire things. Some of those are books.”

I look down, blushing furiously as the guard chuckles.

Leave a Reply

