Hundred Word Wander – Identity

Ash blasted my lungs as I picked amongst the ruins, the sun beating down on my back. Coughing, I adjusted my goggles before continuing my search, spying a sharp glint out the corner of my eye. A minute later, I’d found my prize: a pristine, midnight black assault rifle.

“Well, aren’t you a beauty?” I said, rubbing my hands.

“Why thank you,” said the gun. “My appearance is my pride, after all!”

I jumped back, tripping over a broken girder.

“Don’t be afraid!” it exclaimed. “I am the ancient sword Excalibur!”

I frowned. “Do swords shoot bullets?”

“We do now!”

Leave a Reply

